Tags

,

[Christ on a cracker, I’m having some serious formatting issues with this post. I’m sorry if I’ve spammed your WordPress reader.]

Shit, we’re doing this rapid-fire style:

Day 26: Favorite Non-Fiction Book
Made In America, by Bill Bryson. Best language book ever.

Day 27: Favorite Fiction Book
Fuck off, Book Challenge, have we not been here before? Here are a few: Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams, The Hobbit by take a wild guess, Catch-22 by Joseph Heller, One Hundred Years of Solitude and Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Watership Down by Richard Adams, Small Gods and Night Watch by Terry Pratchett, The Sandman series by Neil Gaiman, Johnathon Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke, The Secret History by Donna Tartt, The Name of the Rose and Foucault’s Pendulum by Umberto Eco… Do I need to continue?
 
Day 28: Last Book [I] Read
Out of Africa, Isaak Denison (AKA Karen Blixen). Hello, colonial racism.
 
Day 29: Book [I’m] Currently Reading

I’m a multitasker. A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson, The Story of Philosophy* by Will Durant, and The Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin.

Day 30: Favorite Coffee Table Book
Well hell. I quite like comics for coffee table books. The Complete Calvin and Hobbes and Classics of Western Literature: Bloom County 86-89.

Whew. That’s over with. Thanks for bearing with me; doing a thirty-day challenge was interesting to say the least. I doubt I’ll do something like this again, it’s very focused and can be a pain in the ass. Plus, I’m 99% sure that many of you could care less about a variety of my opinions on one topic for thirty days straight. I think this falls into the category of don’t know if you’ll like it till you’ve tried it, but challenges like this aren’t extraordinarily fun for me so I don’t think another will come up.

* Can someone, somewhere, please write a basic overview of philosophy or art that hits the major highlights of non-Western cultures as well? Yes, I realize that this means less book space will be devoted to Aristotle and Michelangelo, but that is not a fucking crime. I’m not trying to get a PhD in either subject, but reading a short synopsis of the very major developments in each era from a variety of cultures rather than just European ones would be nice for a change. I’ve been unable to find a decent, readable text for a layperson on either subject that’s not either General Western History stuff or something ludicrously specific like Chamberpots of Fourteenth Century Ethiopian Royalty. Jesus. If anyone has a good suggestion for either subject, please let me know.

