Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve hit that point in the head cold stage where I can’t breathe through my nose and sleeping next to me is probably like being in bed with a hibernating bear; I’m all snuffly and don’t want to be touched. Plus, I actually woke up moaning in discomfort this morning. Yes, I was so pissed to be sick and sleeping that I started making pathetic little whining sounds in my sleep. Ridiculous.

Anyway, I’ve been laying around the house reading books and spending an inordinate amount of time on the internet since Wednesday, so instead of anything interesting, here are some time wasters I’ve been enjoying. Most of them are webcomics, so if you don’t like that sort of thing you might want to skip it.

25 Great Calvin and Hobbes Strips at Progressive Boink
I love Calvin and Hobbes to no end, and, even though I have the boxed set, I occasionally read them online. Too lazy to pull out the big books, I guess. And on that note…

Weapon Brown at Deep Fried Comics
This is one of the most bewildering things I’ve ever come across, and I love it. Essentially, it’s Charlie Brown as a post-apocalyptic mercenary cyborg. Yes, you read that correctly. It’s pretty violent and offensive and definitely not for everyone, but it’s difficult to beat if for sheer “what the fuck” value. I’ve linked to Blockhead’s War, which is the second series and takes a little getting in to. It unfortunately doesn’t feature too many Peanuts characters, but Agent C.A.L. and his mechanical tiger are worth it. There are a lot of cameos from various comics, new and old (off the top of my head: Family Circus, Boondocks, Dilbert, Wizard of ID, Little Orphan Annie, Bloom County, and Beetle Bailey all come to mind) and all of it is so fucking weird that it’s great.

Vegan Black Metal Chef
This guy’s YouTube channel is awesome and I can only imagine the dedication it takes to make these videos. Plus, the recipes actually make sense and look good. The Pad Thai episode is below:

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh
I don’t know if anyone hasn’t found this webcomic yet, but I’ll link to it anyway. The best are Adventures in Depression and This is Why I’ll Never Be an Adult.* Both are brilliant.

Things I Know About Tim Tebow by Carrie Patrick
I loved this as a non-football fan who hears quite a bit about football from her partner. Also, it’s funny to me because I lived in Central Florida when Tebow was quarterback for UF, so I actually know an uncomfortable amount about him from osmosis. This was kind of my train of thought when Tebow first became local news around my town. As Patrick lives in Denver, I imagine she’s doomed to eventually learn about him, too, but I’ll treasure her ignorance for now. Oh, how I wish I could return to my Tebow ignorance.

Okay, pretty much everything else has either been a comfort book or one of many forums, so hopefully I’m recovered soon and willing to think about anything beyond sitting in my chair sniffling into a tissue.

*R and I routinely yell “CLEAN ALL THE THINGS!” at one another when our apartment gets dirty.

