Tags

, , , , , ,

Is there anything better than pasta with olive oil and a poached egg?

If you answered “yes,” you’d be wrong. The pasta/egg combo is awesome, but, in a fit of extreme hunger and experimentation I made something better. I’m sure others have stumbled on this because it’s not exactly unique, but whatever. I’m pleased. What I did was combine the aforementioned pasta, oil and egg dish with goat cheese and one on the greats: pasta all’ubriaco.

If you’ve never heard of pasta all’ubriaco, first off let me say that I’m sorry. It’s basically pasta cooked in a red wine bath, rolled in garlic olive oil, and topped with ridiculous amounts of Parmesan. It’s one of my favorite pasta dishes, probably because I, like pasta, am better when totally saturated in red wine. What I really wanted tonight was a big freaking plate of that, but as I’m too cheap at the moment to use an entire bottle of red wine (even three-buck Chuck) on pasta, I decided to experiment. Also, I really wanted a poached egg. So sue me. Here’s the recipe. Feeds one very hungry SomeSummerSunday, adjust as needed for your own appetite.

Ingredients:

  1. 3 oz. angel hair
  2. 1 tablespoon olive oil
  3. 1 clove garlic, sliced
  4. about 2 oz. chevre
  5. 1 large egg
  6. a heavy grating of Parmesan cheese (get the real stuff)
  7. 1 glass of red wine (about 5 to 6 oz.)
  8. 1/2 a green onion, diced
  9. Salt, pepper and various herbs of your choice, to taste

Crack the egg into a small dish, crumble your goat cheese and get ready to rumble. Bring a pot of salted water to a boil. Heat up your olive oil on medium-low heat in a saute pan. Once the water comes to a boil, add your pasta. Once the pasta is in and boiling away, add your garlic to the hot olive oil. Keep an eye on your garlic (you want it brown but not burnt) while the pasta cooks just shy of being al dente (I go for about 2 minutes of cooking fewer than if fully cooking my pasta in the water). About one minute or so before the pasta finishes, drop the heat on the olive oil to low. Once the pasta is not-quite-done, use tongs or a pasta fork to remove it from the boiling water and into the pan you’ve got your olive oil and garlic in. Don’t dump the water. Stir your pasta vigorously to prevent sticking and coat it in olive oil, then add your glass of wine and raise the heat back to medium-low. Poach your egg in the pasta water.* While your egg is poaching, stir the pasta-wine-olive oil mix until the pasta absorbs the wine. Once the wine is absorbed, add the goat cheese and stir until the goat cheese has melted and coated the pasta. Add a little salt and pepper and any herbs you like, to taste. Pour the pasta into a bowl, and pop the poached egg on top. Cover with the grated Parmesan, a little more pepper, and green onions. Inhale.

I think the only thing I’d do differently is add some sliced proscuitto or pancetta to the olive oil mixture – this really needed that salty, smoky flavor of ham. Use bacon, but only if you must.

Also, before you ask, no, I didn’t take photos for two reasons. 1) I was hungry, and nothing is going to stand in my way when I have a hot, delicious meal in front of me, and 2) pasta cooked in red wine turns a really vivid shade of purple, which, while fine in real life, is unappealing in photographs, unless you’re a professional. I’m not.

* For a great poached egg: add a little (about a tablespoon or so) of vinegar to the boiling water. Remove the water from the heat and once it is no longer bubbling, drop your egg in as gently as possible. Place a lid on the pan and avoid moving it. I like my poached eggs pretty runny, and let them sit for 6 to 7 minutes. For a firmer poached egg, up to 10 minutes is fine but you’re missing out on the awesome egg sauce a runny yolk can produce.

