Tags

, , , ,

So, in the latest in First World Problems, we’ve been sleeping pretty poorly the past few days.

In the interest of keeping normal waking hours, we have, of course, been going to bed at 2 am and waking up somewhere around 10 am. (You know, like normal people. With jobs.) Anyway, since we live in a pretty safe area R. and I typically sleep with the windows cracked to let in some of the fantastic cool air that we’re not used to getting this time of year. It’s nice and, more importantly, it promotes plenty of snuggling, which is really all either of us care about. The fact that our bedroom window faces a courtyard and therefore does not let in too much a) noise or b) light is a major bonus and one thing (of many) I really liked when we looked at this apartment. So, for the past month or so we’ve been enjoying solid sleep in cool weather with a nice breeze, plenty of morning snuggles and – this part is very important no morning noise. This all changed on Monday.

Monday morning we woke up at 7 am. Not on purpose, but as the result of the really fucking loud noise coming from what seemed like everywhere at once. There were some murmurs of “what the fuck” from both of us, but since no one was screaming, there were no obvious cracks in the walls, and the noise went away quickly, we rolled over and dozed off again. For the next two or three hours, we’d have enough quiet to just barely get to sleep again when some other ungodly loud noise would start up. It was never the same, really – sometimes it sounded like someone running on the roof, sometimes it sounded like someone banging on the walls, and once I even heard something that sounded like a large object being dropped. We were both too groggy to really sort anything out, but we did manage to figure out that it wasn’t coming from the courtyard since while it was muffled a bit by closing the windows most of the noise was still present. We have an area under our apartment that’s used as a commercial storage area, so we came to the conclusion that it must be a delivery for the store that rents it out.* We woke up really out of it around 1 pm and went about our day, thankful that, as the store is fairly small, if it was a delivery there probably wouldn’t be two in one week. As I’m a clockwork sleeper, I still couldn’t get to bed until 2 am (it usually takes me a week or two to shift my sleeping schedule around), but I went to bed glad I’d be able to get a good night’s sleep.

I’m sure you can see where this is going.

On Tuesday, 7 am, it starts. We’ve now got a brand-new noise: a high-pitched squeal. Joy. Again, we sleep fitfully. As I’m honestly attempting to avoid naps midday,** I dragged all day Tuesday. I went to bed last night just knowing that tonight was the night, a full eight hours. Wrong again!

So I dragged myself out of bed shortly after the noise started Wednesday morning because I just didn’t want to do the toss and turn thing. Grumbly and sleep-deprived, I decided to get some laundry done so I pulled out the hamper and carried it towards the community laundry room. Walking by a window belonging to the empty apartment next door, I finally realized what the hell was going on: they’ve been pulling up the carpet and installing hardwood floors in the room right next to our bedroom. Saws, hammers, sanders, large piles of hardwood being dropped, you name it. Plenty of racket all morning long. Honestly, I was too tired to really even care. I got the laundry done, went back to the apartment and informed R. of the source of the noise.

“Well, that’s good,” he said, “I thought I heard a sander, and that means they should be done tomorrow. We’ll be able to sleep Friday morning.”

I don’t have the heart to remind him that Friday morning is the day our landlady has the courtyard mowed in the morning. Oh well.

Just a little editor’s note: Totally, totally first-world problem stuff, I know. I’ve been cranky and crabby as a result, but I do realize this is comparatively speaking small potatoes. I’ve got a few good posts coming up, I’ve just been tired and groggy enough to not want to write them because I don’t think they’ll turn out as well if I’m tired and thought my nonexistent readers would deserve an explanation. Though, I have to add, I hope they’re some damn fine hardwood floors.

* The employees of the store typically are in and out starting at about 8 am, but are really conscious of the residences above and do so quietly. I love them for it.

** Oh, how I love naps. Sadly, as my sleep schedule is so hard to budge daily naps are a hard habit to break once I’m used to it. I’ve done the “get sleepy at work every day at 2 pm even though your blood sugar is fine, you’ve slept really well, and you’ve been exercising” thing so many times that I’ve learned not to indulge if I’m out of work for longer than a week. Naps, man. It’s a cruel addiction, the daily dose of sweet, sweet midday sleep.

